Skip to content ↓


Whole School Curriculum:

We know children learn best when their learning is purposeful and has a 'real' context. Mastery principles - Jerome Bruner's work in particular, tell us that we need to start with something 'concrete' - something which links to the children's experience of life. An exploration of the skeleton may start by looking at real chicken bones, for example.

Story has always been the ultimate teaching vehicle. Whether it be in the form of a parable to explore right and wrong, a story problem to launch a maths lesson or the exploration of a deep theme through a powerful novel, we use story to make learning, and life, meaningful.

Curriculum Design - the narrative approach

With this mastery principle in mind, we have woven our areas of learning into a "Curriculum Story" for each year group from Year 1 to 6. This gives all learning a meaningful context; learning flows from one topic to another. 

The Curriculum Stories for 2018-2019 are titled as follows: 

Year 1 "In My Life" 
Year 2 "What a Wonderful World!" 
Year 3 "From Zero to Hero"
Year 4 "Contrast - The Good, The Bad and The Ugly"
Year 5 "Survival of the Fittest"
Year 6 "Fragile Earth"

Coverage of topics and subjects is outlined in the curriculum maps - see the links below.

If you would like to know more about the curriculum as we have designed it, please contact 

Curriculum Maps for 2018-2019

Please note, topic titles for history, geography, science, design technology and computing refer to the Rising Stars resources, which are used throughout the school.

If you would like to know more about the way mathematics is taught at Our Lady of Pity School, please watch the videos by clicking on this link: Singapore Maths Fundamentals videos

Further information on PE, phonics and reading provision can be accessed by clicking on the links below: